Transfer Views in Dynamics CRM: Using Sockeye’s View Transfer Plugin for the Xrm Toolbox

Why use Sockeye.ViewTransfer?

Sockeye.ViewTransfer is an XrmToolBox plugin developed to transfer views (user defined or system) in a number of different scenarios. This tool was originally developed as a console application for moving views that were defined on a client’s instance of CRM(Test) back to our instance of CRM(Dev), so that they could be used as the new system views for that entity. This was useful for letting the client create what they want to see for the views at whatever security role they were at, without giving them System Administrator or System Customizer roles.

How to use Sockeye.ViewTransfer?

Step 1: Install XrmToolBox

The first thing you need to do for this guide is Install XrmToolBox. If you haven’t installed the XrmToolBox, I highly recommend it for anyone who is customizing or configuring Dynamics CRM. Not only is it highly recommended, but it is a requirement for anyone who wants to follow along with this guide.

Step 2: Install Sockeye.ViewTransfer

Inside of the XrmToolBox, navigate to the Plugin Store and install “Sockeye.ViewTransfer”. If your version of the XrmToolBox does not have the Plugin Store, then you will need to download the newest version. (refer to step 1)

Step 3: Launch Sockeye.ViewTransfer

After you have installed Sockeye.ViewTransfer, you will navigate to the Home tab in XrmToolBox and launch the plugin.

Step 4: Fill in Configuration Options

There are 5 fields that need values before you can being loading the views and migrating them:

1. Source Connection

If you decline to select an Organization to connect to onload of the plugin, you must select two different Organizations. If you pick one onload of the plugin, it will use that connection as the Source Organization. To select a Source Organization, you will click the “Set” button inside the Source area. This will allow you to select an Organization Connection that you have saved in the XrmToolBox. After selecting a Source Connection, the label beside the button will display the name of the connection in green.

2. Source View Type

You will either select User View or System View. This will determine what views you would like to migrate FROM. If you select User View, the list of views to migrate from will populate with the User Views for the selected Entity Filter.

3. Entity Filter

Entity Filter determines what Entity you are going to be migrating views for. If you select “account” you will only see views for the Account entity.

4. Target Connection

To select a Target Organization, you will click the “Set” button inside the Target area. This will allow you to select an Organization Connection that you have saved in the XrmToolBox. After selecting a Source Connection, the label beside the button will display the name of the connection in green.

5. Target View Type

You will either select User View or System View. This will determine what views you would like to migrate TO. If User View is selected, the drop down list of views to migrate to will  populate with the User Views for the selected Entity Filter.

Step 5: Load & Transfer Views

After you select all the configuration options, you will click Load Views. Clicking this will load the desired views into the grid view. Once you have selected the following values, you will click Migrate Selected to actually transfer views.

The grid view has 4 columns listed:

1. Copy

This is an editable checkbox. Whatever row has the Copy checkbox checked will migrate to the Target Organization.

2. Source

This is a read only text field that represents the name of each view in the Source Organization.

3. Target

This is an editable drop down list of the available views in the Target Organization, as well as an option to CREATE NEW. This will need to be populated with a value for the Migration to succeed. If you select an existing view, it will overwrite the existing view with the source view, but will not rename it.

When selecting the CREATE NEW option, it will name the newly created target view the same as the selected source view.

4. Result

 This is a read only text field that displays the result of the migration. Possible values are: Updated, Created, and Error.

Enjoy the Transferred Views

At this point you are finished with migrating the views you want. Always confirm that the views your are expecting to be transferred have been transferred, and always make sure that you have selected the correct views to transfer before clicking Migrate Selected.

By | 2017-04-03T12:03:33+00:00 April 3rd, 2017|365, CRM Posts|

About the Author:

Joel joined Sockeye after completing his degree at UAA. He is a skilled Developer who also dabbles in design. He enjoys doing anything outside! Recreational hiking is a passion of his and he enjoys fishing, hunting, and playing and watching soccer.